New Year, New Bar Cart

barcart2

I’ve said before that I don’t do New Year’s Resolutions but I still like to have a little list of things I want to do or do better in the new year. This year, I thought it would be fun to learn how to mix a few drinks so I hit the liquor store and picked up some essentials. I’ve also accumulated quite a collection of drink recipes on my Pinterest board. I spent a lot of time browsing bar carts online and found some really great ones (like this, this, and this) but finally decided on the Target Threshold Bar Cart because it was the most affordable. I was pleasantly surprised that it’s as sturdy as it is and it holds almost everything bar related that I have, including a few bottles of wine. My car isn’t yet complete but I wanted to show you what I came up with so far:

barcart1

First, we had to stock the bar. We went to Kroger and got the following: Gin, Whiskey (Bourbon), Vodka, Grenadine, maraschino cherries (we already had a bottle of rum, spiced rum, and tequila). We then headed to World Market for some other fun stuff such as a bottle of Lemon Drop Martini Mix, Bitters, Bloody Mary Mix. and mineral water.

barcart4

Second, we needed to fill the cart. After we picked up the bar cart from Target (already put-together!) we added the liquor and mix-ins, as well as some accessories (such as an ice bucket, mixer, wine rack, and carafe).

barcart3

I found inspiration on how to style the cart on Pinterest and Apartment Therapy.

Things I still need/want: How-to books, decanter(s), a tray, Dry Vermouth, simple syrup and moonshine.